Emerging Technologies in Computational Chemistry

The COMP division holds an annual Symposium on Emerging Technologies in Computational Chemistry at the American Chemical Society Fall National Meeting every year. The objective of the symposium is to stimulate, reward, and publicize methodological advances in computational chemistry.  Schrödinger, Inc., sponsors a $2,500 prize for the best talk at the symposium. 

The talks are evaluated at the meeting by a panel of experts based on the quality of the presentation and the impact that the research will have on the future of computational chemistry and allied sciences. The symposium is ideal for presenting your latest and best research on new techniques, applications and software development. The talks must be original, not repeats of talks at other ACS symposia. 

The competition is open to all.  

The Rules (read carefully!): 

Applications for the ACS National Meeting must be uploaded prior to the MAPS deadline announced on the main ACS COMP Division page..

Send questions to:

ACS COMP awards committee


Previous Symposium on Emerging Technologies Competition Winners (presenter in bold)

Fall 2017

Justin Smith, Olexandr Isayev, and Adrian E. Roitberg, Neural networks learning quantum chemistry: The rise of the machines

Fall 2016

Joshua Hartman and Gregory Beran, Fragment-based NMR Chemical Shift Prediction for Molecular Crystals: Higher Accuracy NMR Crystallography at Lower Computational Cost

Fall 2015

Denis Fourches, Next-Generation Technologies in Computational Chemistry

Fall 2014 

Olexandr Isayev, Denis Fourches, Eugene N Muratov, Kevin Rasch, Stefano Curtarolo, Alexander Tropsha, Materials cartography: Navigating through chemical space using structural and electronic fingerprints

Fall 2013 

Paul Zimmerman, Catching transition states by throwing ropes to stable intermediates

Fall 2012


Fall 2011

Matthias Rarey

Fall 2010

Howard Feldman (Chemical Computing Group, Inc.) 

Fall 2009

Julien Michel 

Fall 2008


Fall 2007



Chang-Guo Zhan (University of Kentucky), First-principles electronic structure approach for molecular structures, properties, and reactivity in solution: Towards chemical accuracy

Leslie V. Woodcock (University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology)

Jeremy G. Vinter, Timothy J. Cheeseright, and Mark D. Mackey (Cresset BioMolecular Discovery), Peptide to non-peptide: A real breakthrough in virtual screening

Nitin Rathore and and Prof. Juan J. de Pablo (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Monte Carlo simulation of proteins through a random walk in energy space

Christopher E. Keefe

Meir Glick and Amiram Goldblum (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), A novel stochastic algorithm for structure predictions in proteins and for biomolecular interactions