COMP Award Winners for the San Diego meeting (spring 2012)

Post date: Mar 26, 2012 1:05:18 PM

The COMP Division is happy to announce the Award winners for the San Diego ACS meeting (spring 2012).

Please visit the COMP award winners and the other excellent COMP posters at the COMP Poster Session on Tuesday, March 27th, 2012 in Hall C of the San Diego Convention Center from 6pm to 8pm.

The Chemical Computing Group Excellence Award for Graduate Students

Garrett B Goh "Novel explicit solvent pH molecular dynamics methods for RNA"

Advisor: Charles L Brooks

University of Michigan

Jason A. Wallace "Unraveling the pH-dependence of spider dragline silk formation"

Advisor: Jana K. Shen

University of Oklahoma

Cong Liu "Computational studies on CO2 activation using transition metal catalysts: In consideration of homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis"

Advisor: Angela K Wilson

University of North Texas

Adrian W Lange "Recent developments and progress with polarizable continuum models"

Advisor: John Herbert

Ohio State University

The OpenEye Outstanding Junior Faculty Award

Patrick Charbonneau “Monte Carlo Algorithms for Studying Microphase and Cluster-Crystal Formers”

Department of Chemistry, Duke University

Lasse Jensen "Understanding and controlling molecule-plasmon interactions"

Department of Chemistry, Penn State University

Xiaosong Li "Energy-specific Linear Response TDHF/TDDFT Method for Calculating High-energy Excited States"

Department of Chemistry, University of Washington

Joseph E. Subotnik "Surface Hopping Predicts The Incorrect Scaling for Marcus’s Electron Transfer Rate: Why Decoherence Saves the Day"

Department of Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania

Peter Kollman Graduate Award in Supercomputing

Christopher von Bargen "Simulation Studies of Carbon Nanotubes Wrapped by Chiral Poly-Arylene Polymers"

Advisor: Jeffery G. Saven

University of Pennsylvania